My Veggie Tales

Until lately, I haven’t been entirely into true cooking, although I love a good baking session! I’m going to assume its because I enjoy consuming the baked goods 😉 whoops!

But all of a sudden I have made a natural (read: without the usual “you must do it” mentality) shift & I’m kind of loving it!

Vegetables have all the sudden become a daily part of my diet! Just in the last two weeks I have had green beans, corn, zucchini, squash, pickles, cucumbers, banana peppers, bell peppers, broccoli, avocado, onions, tomatoes, and today’s shining star… CARROTS!

While I was at the grocery this past weekend and choosing vegetables for the week I mostly chose carrots because they were on sale! So now that its Thursday and I hadn’t even touched them I decided to pull them out! Not knowing what to do with them, I quickly hit up pinterest & found:

via pinterest

via pinterest

I just went with it…

1) Cut my carrots

20130207-181533.jpg

2) Set the oven to 350 and let it preheat while I laid them in aluminum foil atop a cookie shoot

3) drizzled with olive oil, salt, and added garlic salt too!

20130207-181555.jpg4) popped them in the oven and let them cook the entire time we worked on everything else! I kind of just played the time by ear~ left them in a lot longer than 12 minutes!

Plated they ended up looking  like this:

20130207-181638.jpg20130207-181651.jpg

The Results: I LOVED them! I didn’t have high expectations because I have never felt like carrots are very flavorful… but these were WOW! They ended up having a very sweet taste profile which I did not expect! I’m already looking forward to making them again!

Mitchell on the other hand says, “I can’t tell if they are carrots or sweet potatoes!”  (Thats as good as a 5 star rating for this sweet potato loving girl!)

We both feel so much better since starting to cook & eat a lot more vegetables! It hasn’t been hard at all to learn fun, delicious ways to cook them!

Enough reason for me to keep this up!

Try cooking these one night this week or just incorporating more of any veggie you enjoy then let me know what you think and how you feel!

Leave a Reply

