Living and Active

I read the NIV Bible and I’ve never had a problem with that version. But I do love to see the way the same verse is displayed differently from version to version. Some seem really different, some you can hardly notice a change. 

Today I’m referring to Psalm 46:10. A verse most people would say, “yeah, I’ve heard that all my life.” “I have that hanging on my wall at home”… but a friend reminded me recently that even when it seems we have heard verses more times than we can count, God makes them fresh every time, perfectly conveying what He needs you to see that day. Hebrews 4:12 says, “For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.”

NIV: “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

NASB: “Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Here is what stuck out to me like a sore thumb: Cease Striving.

CEASE

[sees]  ceased, ceas·ing, noun

1. to stop; discontinue: Not all medieval beliefs have ceased to exist.
2. to come to an end: At last the war has ceased.
3. Obsolete . to pass away; die out.
4. to put a stop or end to; discontinue: He begged them to cease their quarreling

STRIVE 

[strahyv] striv·en, striv·ing.

1. to exert oneself vigorously; try hard: He strove to make himself understood.
2. to make strenuous efforts toward any goal: to strive for success.
3. to contend in opposition, battle, or any conflict; compete.
4. to struggle vigorously, as in opposition or resistance: to strive against fate.
5. to rival; vie.
 
Stop making strenuous efforts towards goals that are not for Me. This was the message I was supposed to see today as I read this verse for the trillionth time (okay- that was an exaggeration!) 
Usually when I think of this verse I take it to mean I should sit still, without words, trying to chase away any thoughts that enter and wait for God. And I have attempted to do this many times. I still see that we should wait at the feet of Jesus being quiet, giving no input, just listening sometimes. But WOW! for Him to blatantly put before me “Stop making strenuous efforts towards goals that are not of Me or for Me.” 
 
What a message for my heart this morning. I pray it is good for yours too. 
Image

“For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

Leave a Reply

