Jumpin’ on the HIIT train!

After class today, despite the TERRIBLE weather… (45 degrees felt like 20!) I felt a strange urge to hit the gym!

Once in a lifetime ūüėČ so I went with it telling myself I only had to stay 20 minutes! When I got there I had my body fat measured out of curiosity then I jumped on the elliptical to start some HIIT!

High Intensity Interval Training is the next hottest fitness trend behind Cross Fit. If you’ve been anywhere near Pinterest lately, you know that everyone’s been all over this trend!

HIIT definition from wikipedia:¬†an enhanced form of¬†interval training, an¬†exercise¬†strategy alternating periods of short intense¬†anaerobic exercise¬†with less-intense recovery periods. HIIT is a form of¬†cardiovascular exercise. Usual HIIT sessions may vary from 7‚Äď20 minutes. These short, intense workouts provide improved athletic capacity and¬†condition, improved¬†glucose metabolism, and improved fat burning

I created my own (combining elliptical and treadmill) for a hot and SUPER sweaty twenty minutes!

HIIT

Try it for yourself~ It leaves you feeling so alive!! I got my heart rate up to 188- goes to show how out of shape in shape I am. ha ha! This 20 minute workout burned a total of 201 calories for just 1.7 miles!

Now that my appetite is ready to roar, I’ve got tilapia in the oven!!

Leave a Reply

