Doing All the Work

Revisiting WordPress today for the first time in months feels kind of funny! But I wanted to stop in for a second to share a thought with you…

I always find myself (disgustingly!) wondering what things would be like if I didn’t “improve” the situation? Do you ever do this?…  I mean wondering:

-What would the kitchen look like if I didn’t clean it?

-Would anyone do laundry (or have clean clothes) around here if I didn’t?

-Would the dishes just pile up if I didn’t load the dishwasher & put them away after?

It’s not a pretty thought. I should gladly help with a smile on my face. 

While cleaning the counters today, after prepping all the ingredients for homemade pizza with sweet friends tonight (:, my mind began wandering. I had to think how much more mothers must feel this way. I know I constantly let my mom do stuff for me without as much a “Thank you!” (Much less the hug she deserves.)  As humans and women, I think deep down we want the recognition. We feel so proud we completed this and that and marked 47 things off our to do list in one day…

But I write all this to say, How much more recognition does Jesus deserve? 

He constantly picks up after me. I forget to acknowledge that.

He cleans up all my messes. I rarely say thank you.

He goes before me into each day. I get there and enjoy myself without ever turning to him.

He makes sure I have a clean outfit heart. I even take that for granted.

And He does it “with a smile on his face,” without expecting anything in return but Faith in Him~ Something this girl needs to learn.

Image

Heavenly Father, I love the way life can practically throw me into realizing how great You are. You sent your Son for me. How could I deserve that? You know I don’t. The way You love me feels tangible in these moments. Incredibly thankful. Thank you for working for me even when I fail You. Amen

One thought on “Doing All the Work

Leave a Reply

